Tucked within the paneled walls of the Club is our bespoke bar and grill, “Charlie's”.

Named after the most famous restaurant in Minneapolis history, which operated for 49 years only three blocks away, Charlie’s offers a dash of 1930’s glamour, with its comfortable seating, casual elegance, and bespoke furnishings. Featuring the restored bar and frieze from the original Charlie’s, Charlie’s Minneapolis Club presents an updated view of a French-inspired Supper Club, and even includes some of the sought-after menu items of its namesake.

With an outstanding culinary team that includes Chef-in-Residence Jamie Malone, Chef Eric Wiedl, and Sous Chef Joshua Jones, and renowned Hospitality veteran and Sommelier Bill Summerville, Charlie’s provides the perfect setting for a quiet weeknight dinner for two, a Saturday Night date night, or a crafted cocktail at the bar. Maybe even a bottle of bubbly, sipped in the romantic nook of our lounge…

Charlie’s is a magic blend of style and comfort.

Tucked within the paneled walls

HTML Generator

Jamie Malone Headshot

Jamie Malone brings a superb resume to Charlie’s at Minneapolis Club, including multiple awards from the James Beard Foundation and Food and Wine magazine.

Known for her ability to combine elegance and accessibility into an irresistible combination, Jamie also operates her company Petite Atelier, making guests happy at both her North Loop Atelier, and in their own homes, via her splendid kits.

HTML Generator

Bill Summerville has been an influential force in shaping the Twin Cities restaurant scene, plying his trademark style of charm and brashness at such notable restaurants as D’Amico Cucina, La Belle Vie and Spoon and Stable.

During his tenure as partner and ringmaster of Hall of Fame Minneapolis Restaurant La Belle Vie, Bill was a three-time semifinalist for the James Beard Foundation Outstanding Wine Program award, and a semifinalist for Best Service.

Bill is bringing this award-winning expertise to Charlie’s at Minneapolis Club, where he will be curating the wines and prowling the floor, ready to make you at home, and at ease.


HTML Generator

Charlie history

The original Charlie’s, located just blocks away at 4th avenue and 7th street, was located in a stunning French Chateau that was built as a restaurant in 1933, and served its last Charlie’s Kitchen Sandwich in 1982.

The building was sold to developers and rather than operate out of something less fantastic, owner Louise Saunders went out on top and closed up shop as the Restaurant Champion of the Twin Cities. In its heyday, Charlie’s served 320,000 meals a year out of 358 seats, with 41 waitresses, 4 waiters, and 4 captains.

Charlie’s at Minneapolis Club is lucky to have the original Charlie’s bar, and the “frieze” that hung behind the bar, in addition to a few other relics. Charlie’s Matriarch Louise Saunders likened running Charlie’s to “being in a tough bridge game”. She left behind a true legacy that Minneapolis Club is proud to continue today.

Tucked within the paneled walls


table img

Hours Contact

Wed – Thurs 5 pm – 9 pm
Fri – Sat 5 pm – 10 pm