TUCKED WITHIN THE PANELED WALLS
Tucked within the paneled walls of the Club is our bespoke bar and grill, "Charlie's."
Named after the most famous restaurant in Minneapolis history, which operated for 49 years only three blocks away, Charlie's offers a dash of 1930s glamour with its comfortable seating, casual elegance, and bespoke furnishings. Featuring the restored bar and frieze from the original Charlie's, Charlie's Minneapolis Club presents an updated view of a French-inspired Supper Club. It even includes some of the sought-after menu items of its namesake.
Our outstanding culinary team includes Chef Eric Wiedl and Sous Chef Joshua Jones, they have designed our Fall and Winter Menu. Charlie’s provides the perfect setting for a quiet weeknight dinner for two, a Friday Night date night, or a crafted cocktail at the bar. Maybe even a bottle of bubbly sipped in the romantic nook of our lounge…
Charlie’s is a magic blend of style and comfort.
Tucked within the paneled walls
The original Charlie’s, located just blocks away at 4th avenue and 7th street, was located in a stunning French Chateau that was built as a restaurant in 1933, and served its last Charlie’s Kitchen Sandwich in 1982.
The building was sold to developers and rather than operate out of something less fantastic, owner Louise Saunders went out on top and closed up shop as the Restaurant Champion of the Twin Cities. In its heyday, Charlie’s served 320,000 meals a year out of 358 seats, with 41 waitresses, 4 waiters, and 4 captains.
Charlie’s at Minneapolis Club is lucky to have the original Charlie’s bar, and the “frieze” that hung behind the bar, in addition to a few other relics. Charlie’s Matriarch Louise Saunders likened running Charlie’s to “being in a tough bridge game”. She left behind a true legacy that Minneapolis Club is proud to continue today.